## Extract from Hansard

[COUNCIL - Wednesday, 18 August 2004] p5123c-5124a

Hon Louise Pratt; Hon Kim Chance

## WA PHARMACEUTICAL COUNCIL, MEMBERSHIP AND REPORTS

- 2105. Hon Louise Pratt to the Leader of the House representing the Premier
- (1) How is the Western Australian Pharmaceutical Council constituted?
- (2) Who are its members and their terms?
- (3) Could the Premier please table their two most recent reports?
- (4) Did the former Premier previous Government make a donation, payment or funding of any kind to the Pharmacy Foundation or similar body?
- (5) If so, when?
- (6) What was the sum?
- (7) What was the purpose of this sum?
- (8) How was this acquitted?
- (9) Who sits on the Foundation, and to whom and how does it report?

## Hon KIM CHANCE replied:

- (1) The Pharmaceutical Council of Western Australia is constituted under section 7 of the Pharmacy Act 1964.
- (2) Mrs Lenette Mullen President

Prof Michael Garlepp - Deputy President

Mr Richard Donnelly - Treasurer
Mr John Harvey - Councillor
Mrs Anne Ramshaw - Councillor
Ms Gia Cecchele - Councillor
Mr John Gibson - Councillor

Each member is elected for three years.

- (3) The two most recent reports are attached for tabling. [See paper No 2464.]
- (4) Yes, a grant of funds was made available to the Pharmacy Guild of Australia (WA Branch), when it initially launched the Pharmacy Foundation.
- (5) This grant of funds was made in the 2000/01 financial year.
- (6) \$50,000.
- (7) The grant of funds was made to establish a joint project between the Pharmacy Foundation and the St John Ambulance Service. The Project's aim was to encourage drug users to call an ambulance in cases of opiate overdose by covering patients for the cost of this service as part of an insurance scheme. Calling an ambulance promptly was a key strategy in the prevention of opiate-related overdose deaths. This initiative aimed to remove the barrier of cost, which had been identified as a disincentive for drug users to contact the ambulance service promptly.
- (8) The funds were granted to the Pharmacy Foundation, who managed the Project and the acquittal of funds.
- (9) The members of the Foundation Committee are:

Mr Ian Crawford

Mr Harry Zafer

Mr Glen Joyce

Mr David Manuel

Mr Con Berbatis

Mr Nick Pope

Mr Terry Murphy

Ms Melanie Hands

Mr David Buttsworth

Mr Kevin Cumbers

Mr Graeme O'Loughlan

The Committee manages the funds of the Foundation and is not required to report its activities.

Extract from *Hansard*[COUNCIL - Wednesday, 18 August 2004]
p5123c-5124a
Hon Louise Pratt; Hon Kim Chance

[2]